Dear Mr. Potter

We are pleased to inform you that you have been accepted at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

I don’t know exactly how Harry felt the day he got his letter from Hagrid, but I feel like I’ve just been accepted to Hogwarts and… I’m a whaaaaaaat? I… can’t be a… wi(zard)nner. I’m just Emily. Just Harry! I felt disbelief, shock, read the message 8 times, mouth open, speechless, wide eyed, couldn’t blink, hit F5 x 20 to refresh just in case, CAPSLOCK gchatted my current gchat friend immediately, sprinted outside the office to jump around in silent celebration, called mom right away, emailed Dana, texted Brian, emailed dad. WOW. It was nearly impossible to keep it confidential. I was excited, ecstatic, still  in disbelief, humbled, grateful, appreciative, thankful, surprised, stunned but not obliviated. WOW. This is real!!!!!

These gifs from last year’s scholarship announcement do not do it justice.

(Update: I’m glad I can finally share the news after the public announcement. THANK YOU! A long list of thankyou’s is coming soon in a thank-you-page, as well as a more formal update!)

Dear Mr. Potter

2 thoughts on “Dear Mr. Potter

  1. […] It’s a bit delayed and I’m already on the plane, flying from Amsterdam to Cape Town as I’m writing this, but THANK YOU ALL who have helped me so far in my quest to “Ref ‘Em All”! I’m honored, humbled, ecstatic, and incredibly grateful for this scholarship and the opportunity to go to ref school (Maties Rugby Academy Referees) for 2 months in Stellenbosch! I’ll be keeping up with this blog during my time there, and also tweeting and instagraming. There are so many ways to follow my adventures, and I hope you do! Kahlil and I will also begin continuing Milli’s DMS blog from last year so that we can have a collection of all the DMS experiences in one place. I cannot say thank you enough – thank you thank you thank you!!!! I’M SO EXCITED!!!!!!!!!!!! […]

    Like

  2. […] It’s a bit delayed and I’m already on the plane, flying from Amsterdam to Cape Town as I’m writing this, but THANK YOU ALL who have helped me so far in my quest to “Ref ‘Em All”! I’m honored, humbled, ecstatic, and incredibly grateful for this scholarship and the opportunity to go to ref school (Maties Rugby Academy Referees) for 2 months in Stellenbosch! I’ll be keeping up with this blog during my time there, and also tweeting and instagraming. There are so many ways to follow my adventures, and I hope you do! Kahlil and I will also begin continuing Milli’s DMS blog from last year so that we can have a collection of all the DMS experiences in one place. I cannot say thank you enough – thank you thank you thank you!!!! I’M SO EXCITED!!!!!!!!!!!! […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

