Most awkward part of a rugby game: the GG Line

I have a friend who was once asked,

“What’s your favorite part of the game?”

“The End.”

Tonight I decided that while it may not by my least favorite part of the game, the end is definitely the most awkward. It’s not something they cover in the lvl 1 or lvl 2 ref courses ya know. Here are just a few things that go through my mind when I’m faced with THE GG LINE:

  • Do I awkwardly stand to the side and let them do their thing?
  • Do I join one team in their line and high five the others?
  • Do I deserve to walk through the tunnel?
  • It feels weird to join the team that is tunneling for some reason.
  • Why do they all try to shake my hand?? There’s not enough time for that! Can’t we all just high-five?
  • Should I jump up and click my heels every time on the “hooray!” when they give me 3 cheers?
  • Where’s the captain? Maybe I should just find him/her.
  • To approach the coach… to not approach the coach…
  • Where are my flags
  • Do I say “good game”? “congrats?” “gg wp”? “GEEGEEEEEE!”? (or rage quit)
  • GG GG GG GG GG GG GG GG GG GG GG GG GG GG GG GG GG GG GG GG GG GG

YES YES YES SHAK ATTACK

Most awkward part of a rugby game: the GG Line

Leave a Reply

