Firstly, the title of this post is inspired by VGHS, which you can also watch here on YouTube. But let’s get right to it – I’ve been reading up on penalty tries and sin bins, and wondering if they always happen in conjunction. In summary, this is the answer:
- If a player intentionally offends and prevents a probably try, then yes both a penalty try should be awarded and the player should be cautioned (YC) or sent off (RC). There is no option of admonishment (PK) here.
- Law 10.2(a) has the following text, but keep in mind it’s under the heading “Intentionally Offending”.
A penalty try must be awarded if the offence prevents a try that would probably otherwise have been scored. A player who prevents a try being scored through foul play must either be cautioned and temporarily suspended or sent off.
- But as the ruling document below says, “If a penalty try is awarded as the result of a player unintentionally offending,the player, as well as being liable to cautioning and temporary suspension or send off, can be admonished by the referee.”
From Peter Watson (thanks!):
But wait, there’s more! There’s always more… An interesting article I stumbled across on rugby 365 when searching around for answers concerns an incident where a defender intentionally made the ball dead by hitting it out with his palm. There’s debate about the interpretation of a probable vs possible try. Good stuff.
Also “Guidelines for Use of the Sin Bin“. I think it’s from the early 2000s so keep in mind how rapidly the game changes and how different aspects of the game fluctuate in and out of focus. Anyways I’m just trying to say, there are some good relevant concepts in there but don’t take it word for word!
Finally, remember that time our team got penalized a bunch of times for Calvalry charge (spring break ’10 vs Beantown @ Randall’s Island Four Leaf tourney) and we were all “WTF???”… I guess it depends on proximity to the goal line.
Oh, and I’ll leave you with another short read: